Whisper of the Stars

Because a whisper can be a secret, a truth & a setting free

15 in 2015: Book Challenge

on November 16, 2014

I have no idea what’s going on, but for some strangely bizarre reason, I have not just one day off, but TWO days off…in a row! I remember when I once worked 90 days straight, ahh those were the crazy days.  Seeing as I have a lot of time on my hands & no plans at all, I figured I’d take the time to talk to myself here again (a year after I started this blog!), and whoever happens to stumble across this blog! Not that much really happens to me, but I figure that releasing any thoughts out (as I do with Twitter) can only be beneficial/therapeutic for me =)  But I’m remembering a complaint my boyfriend made once, after several passive-aggressive tweets I wrote. He asked why I needed to make our disputes public for the world to see, but my response was, not only were my tweets thickly veiled as nonsensical phrases so that nobody would fully understand what I was referring to (although my emotions still showed), I just really felt the need to put it out there. It didn’t matter that whoever read it (if anybody even did) understood me or inquired about my well-being (although that would be a bonus), but I felt that as long as I gave myself the chance to tell someone, anyone, then the stress I felt from that situation would be released from me, because at least someone knew.

(On a side note, it is extremely satisfying & amusing to go through my Twitter timeline & laugh at myself, and wonder what the heck I was referring to! It just goes to show that some things aren’t worth the trouble getting upset about, if it didn’t make an impact enough to be remembered. Like that time I got a reminder on my phone to “FORGET ABOUT HIM!” that I’d set for myself a long time ago apparently. I was like “…forget about who? Who was this supposed to be about??” Apparently someone who I easily forgot about, whoops!)

OKAY, I seriously need to learn how to keep myself on track & not go off on tangents/ramble away. Today’s post has a point!! Recently, my friend from work was telling me that she really wants to go back to reading more books, and about a challenge that she heard about. Basically, it’s 15 “books” in 2015, except it’s actually 5 classics, 5 stand-alones, and 5 series, so it’s actually more than 15 books =P BUT BY GOLLY, I’M SUPER EXCITED. All together, there’s 3 of us from work who are participating in this challenge, and I was the last one to finalize my list (of course, ever the procrastinator). We agreed to do 2 group-reads, and everything else was personal pick. Friend #2 had never read OR watched any of the Harry Potter series (yes, unbelievable, I agree, but then again, I’ve never watched The Matrix or Lord of the Rings, so who am I to judge?!) so we’re all going to read (or in our cases, re-read) the Harry Potter series for 1 series choice, and Anna Karenina for 1 classics choice, together!

Because I’ve spent 2 days and the past several hours of today poring over extensive lists (from Amazon ratings to the amazing Goodreads website & all their user reviews), I’m ecstatic to have my finalized list of choices. I feel like I’m about to embark on a journey, and I suppose I really am, mentally & emotionally! Now, I can BUY and KEEP my books too, as opposed to having to trudge to the library and borrow them, then trudge back to return them x3 Alas, we’re not allowed to start until December 31, 2014, so with all the excitement I have left, I decided to share my list of books, and maybe share my thoughts/reflections after finishing them! I’m also adding some blurbs after each title, to explain why I chose these titles/found them intriguing.

15 in 2015!

5 CLASSICS:

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (group read) – I knew nothing about this but my 2 friends insisted on tackling this. I later found out it’s about a doomed love affair in 19th century Russia. I was told it’d be an extremely difficult read, gack D:
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – I won this book when I was young but was never able to get into it. I’d like to be more well-rounded, and I feel I can’t call myself a book-lover if I’ve read tons of (mostly dog & animal) books but not many classics, and I feel like this is a vital one!
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I was searching up quotes about independence once, and many that I found were from Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre. I found myself fully agreeing & enjoying her view, so I’m excited to read an entire book by her!
  • Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – On many “must-read” lists of classics, and I realize that I have a (bad?) tendency to favour/choose books with a strong female narrator/protagonist. Maybe because they inspire me, but Scarlett O’Hara seems to be my kinda gal! Also, the fact that it’s 1000+ pages makes it seem like a worthwhile challenge >=)
  • The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – About a woman (named Esther nonetheless!) and her descent into/life with mental illness. I’m a bit scared that I’ll get too into it & imagine myself as the main character/wonder if I’ll be able to relate since I live inside my own head a lot, but it should still be an interesting ride!

5 SERIES:

  • Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (group read) [7 books] – Almost considered a classic! I’m missing maybe…2-3 books from my own collection, so now’s a great time to complete it. Then one day,in my own house, I’ll have an awesome library, and all these books will adorn the shelves! …<3
  • Thursday Next by Jasper Fforde [7 books] – A book about a woman named Thursday, who’s a…literary detective! Yes, she solves crimes in a world where characters come straight out of classic books, like Jane Eyre (which I’m glad to have on my list, so I’ll understand all the references!), and Hamlet (which I came to love the second time around). I was introduced to this book by one of my favourite teachers, in Mystery & Suspense Lit. in high school, and am excited to re-read the 1st & venture into the following six!
  • Alpha & Omega by Patricia Biggs [4 books] – An “urban fantasy,” about werewolves, and an Omega girl who meets an Alpha werewolf (& who doesn’t love an alpha figure, especially in wolf form?! Totally for me, hehe)
  • Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor [3 books] – I’ve heard tons about the Divergent & Mortal Instrument series, but for some unknown reason, their synopses can’t capture my interest. Someone had commented on a list that this was a way better series, and although that was their personal opinion,
    I like what I’ve seen so far about it! A devil falls in love with an angel, except the angel thinks she’s a human. And she has natural, bright blue hair 8) (blue hair is some strange fantasy of mine from long ago haha)
  • A Chet and Bernie Mystery by Spencer Quinn [7 books] – A mystery series, where a dog is not only half of the detective-duo, but also the narrator of the series! It looks to be a light & funny set, and goodness knows I’ll need some comedy relief after burning through all those classics!

5 STAND ALONES:

  • The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein – I’ve read this before & think I loved it (can’t remember right now lol), but it was at the top of all dog-related book lists, so I believe it’s worth a re-read, and adding to my collection of many dog books ^^ It’s told from the perspective of a dog who’s more human/philosopher than dog =P
  • The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls – I’ve seen many reviews of people stating this is their favourite book (and even one lady, who said she read this 15 times!), so I’m pretty sure it’ll be worth my while =P It’s a memoir, about a “unconventional, poverty-stricken upbringing at the hands of her deeply dysfunctional parents.” (Wiki. (Why do I feel the need to quote my citations?? High school habits die hard apparently lol!))
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – Good enough to be turned into a movie, which I’ll hafta refrain from watching, at least until after I read it =/ It was highly reviewed, but I’m hoping that it’s not purely because of the attention that the movie brought it. The movie trailer intrigued me though, and I’m a firm believer that books are always better than the movies that they inspire!
  • Orphan Train by Christina Kline – Yet another highly reviewed & recommended book (on one of the top books of 2014 lists I believe), it’s about an unexpected friendship between a 17 year old foster child and a 91 year old lady, what they have in common, and asking questions that nobody ever thought to ask about their troubling pasts
  • Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks – The title, I love it! Immediately drawn in, the synopsis was even more interesting. I came across this as I was looking for books similar to “Flowers for Algernon,” one of my favourite books that had me ending in tears. It’s from the perspective of the imaginary friend of a child with special needs (Autism possibly? I can’t remember), who basically “lives” way longer than most imaginary friends, because his creator ultimately, needs him through a vital part of his childhood

Voilaaa, there we are, 38 books total! Here’s to hoping that these books change & inspire me, and broaden my horizons =)

4 responses to “15 in 2015: Book Challenge

  1. missjellyy says:

    It’s so funny that you’re back in the BLOG WORLD as I am also coming back as well 🙂 Ellen made me want to start my own blog hehe (once again) Maybe this time will actually work out haha

    • starrsong says:

      I can’t reply on your own page! I was JUST re-reading & enjoying your prev posts from last year, then suddenly they’re all gone! (But I have them all fresh in my memory x])
      Yea yea, I read Ellen’s & came back for pretty much the saw reason ^^
      Can’t wait to read your 1st post! Are you like LITERALLY updating everything this very moment? I swear your name/title just changed =P

  2. missjellyy says:

    Also, for now I just created it to follow and read and comment on Ellen’s posts. I’m not sure if I’ll use it just yet to write my own stuff o.o but we’ll see 😀

Leave a Reply

